5 SOA Best Practices According to IBM

  • Develop architecture with a vision for the future – looking beyond simple connectivity and focusing more on architecture is the most common recurring need for SOA implementations.
  • Foresee linkages from IT to your business processes – implementation of an architecture that transitions IT into the role of a service provider for business functionality.
  • Create an organizational structure to support SOA including culture, skills, training, teaming, organization structure, decision making, reward systems, collaboration and governance.
  • Build a scalable infrastructure – create a baseline for your services performance and scalability using appropriate instruments and measurements.
  • Enable operational visibility – focus on governance and service management.


Considering WebSphere on System z for your SOA environment

Many organizations which are moving to a service-oriented architecture (SOA) have a significant legacy infrastructure running on IBM’s System z. Several options exist for service enablement of these applications. This article describes why you might want to consider System z as the foundational platform environment for your SOA environment. You see why using WebSphere as the core for your infrastructure on System z enables you to develop services which maximize reuse. You see an environment which supports services and which enables scalability, availability, and performance required for the enterprise. You also see how System z fits into a heterogeneous SOA environment. This article is intended for architects and developers building an SOA infrastructure who are deciding on a target platform. Readers should have a basic knowledge of both Service Oriented Architecture and IBM System z.


Increase business flexibility with the Service Integration Maturity Model

Do you lack flexibility in your organization between business and IT?Identify your organization in one or all of the seven stages of Maturity for each part of your organization.

  1. Silo (data integration)
  2. Integrated (application integration)
  3. Componentized (functional integration)
  4. Simple services (process integration)
  5. Composite services (supply-chain integration)
  6. Virtualized services ( virtual infrastructure)
  7. Dynamically reconfigurable services (eco-system integration)

Map your organization following the CMMI levels for each stage of SIMM.

  1. Incomplete
  2. Performed
  3. Managed
  4. Defined
  5. Quantitatively managed
  6. Optimizing

After SIMM is completed define the scope of your SOA adoption:

To achieve an optimal level of flexibility when architecting a service-oriented infrastructure, it’s wise to adhere to the seven steps of maturity that we’ve discussed. Doing this, combined with attention to the capabilities described in the Capability Maturity Model Integration, will enable you to develop a well-defined and usable architecture.